Any query that is saved in Virtuous will be accessible from the main Query Tool screen. There, you’ll see queries sorted into a few different tabs.

The first, “My Queries,” is where you will find any queries that you, yourself, have created and saved. The “Team Queries” tab is where you will find queries created and saved by any other users in your system. So, if you create a new query and save it as “My New Query,” you’ll see that in the “My Queries” tab, while any other user will find it under the “Team Queries” tab.

The queries on the “Best Practices” tab come pre-loaded in every Virtuous instance. These queries are designed primarily for use with the Best Practice workflows that are available in Virtuous Automation.

The “Recent Queries” tab lists any query that has been run recently, as the name implies, including those that have not been saved. If you run a query and forget to save it, you can always check here to find it, and then save it with a new name. Unsaved queries will simply display the random ID string that is visible on the build screen whenever you create a new query.

The “All” tab, as you might have guessed, includes all of the queries listed on any of the other tabs.

On any tab, you can use the Search option to quickly find the query you need.

Once a query has been saved, you’ll have a few options for managing it. Look to the right of the saved query name, and you’ll see four icons. The first, the “play” icon, is a quick link to take you directly to the results of your saved query, skipping past the build query screen altogether.

Use the copy icon next to it to make a copy of any existing query. As a best practice, use this whenever you run a query that was saved by another user, to avoid making changes to their saved query. Remember, running a query saves that query, including any changes made. But by making your own copy, you can add or remove parameters, run the query, and still preserve the original.

If you have a particular query that you run frequently, click on the heart icon to mark that query as a favorite. Favorite queries are accessible directly from your dashboard; just look for the Favorite Queries box in the upper right. Clicking on any of your favorites will take you to the build query screen, when you can run the query or just export the results.

Finally, you can click on the trash can icon to delete any saved query that is no longer needed. 

Now that you know how to manage your saved queries, be sure to check out some of our other videos to learn more.

Did this answer your question?